An Entire Laundry Room Updated all Started with some Shelves

As I am nearing the completion of the updating in my laundry room, I thought I would look back on my first project that started the entire journey. Our laundry room is very small and had very little storage space. All the storage space I had was one small shelf that would barely hold my laundry room supplies let alone anything else I wanted to keep handy. Because the the lack of space was not going to work for me, I knew I had to do something. So I decided I would add shelving to the room

Laundry rom shelvesThe existing shelf was black and just did not fit my style. Black is a great color but I prefer things that are bright and colorful. Sense I was not really happy with the black shelf, I took down the shelf and let my kids paint it. Now keep in mind at the time my kids were 1 1/2 and 3 years old. There is no rhyme or reason to their painting, they just picked a color they liked and finger painted it. It took them two days to finish the one shelf. I did have them paint both sides of the shelf and I did do a laundry room shelveslittle touching up to cover any spots that were missed.

Sense I wanted another shelf I needed them to paint a second one to match. I had a piece of plywood that was leftover from another project and decided to use that as my second shelf. They worked on the project for another two days, finger painting the shelf and themselves. The kids had fun painting and did a great job working together to fill a need in our home.

After I finished touching up the shelf I had to make some decision on how i wanted the shelves mounted on the wall. I still had the wall mounts from when the first shelf was black so I went ahead and used those for the original shelf. For the new shelf I had to purchase another set of wall mounts but I couldn’t find a set to matching the first pair of wall mounts. At first I was a little disappointed but then I decided to get the cheapest thing that I could find and just paint them the same color. I was a little nervous because the shelf mounts did not match but once both shelves were hanging on the wall I was not really bothered by it. Both mounts  were painted white and the wall is a cream color so they don’t really stand out.

Once both shelves were up I was so happy to have a little more space for storage and I loved the colors the kids painted them. The shelves entertained my kids for several days and is functional art that I get to look at every day. As the shelves were more my personal style, the rest of the room looked so boring to me. I felt as though the rest of the room needed some decor to complete the look of the room. I felt that the walled needed some touch up paint, the doors needed some TLC, and we needed artwork around the room. It is interesting to he how a seemly simple project could turn into an entire laundry room update.

 

Leave a Reply

